1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Free Time as a Professor?

1. Sep 4, 2011 #1
    It's a long way off for me, being a senior in HS, but I'm thinking about what career I want to aim for in college and after. I'm considering becoming a professor, but, from what I've heard from my high school teachers, teachers have little free time. Beyond the normal 8 to 4, how much time does the average professor spend on their job (including research, grading, and anything required to stay in good standing with the uni.)?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 4, 2011 #2
    I'm just an undergrad, but I'll share some of my observations.

First, high school teachers and professors can have vastly different job descriptions.

For example, I go to a big research university and the professors there do research. Most of them teach only 2-3 classes a year, sometimes more sometimes less (I'm guessing the higher ranked profs teach less.) This is about 6 hours of classroom time, and throw in 2-3 office hours and a few hours for planning, and total working time associated with teaching is about 15.

Now, at the other extreme, take the community college I transferred from. I think most of the profs were only part-time and did other stuff for a full-time job. For example, maybe a guy had a Master's Degree in History and so he taught High School history and a couple courses at the community college every semester. The full-time profs usually taught about 4-5 classes per semester. Clearly, the community college profs were teaching much more than the profs at my current research university.