Are mathematicians and physicists obsessed with index notation?

• Courses
  • Thread starter Forever_searcher
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
In summary, the speaker is studying mathematics and has to choose modules for the next semester. They are interested in physics and are considering taking partial differential equations, stochastic processes, geometry, and topology. Other options include numerical analysis, algebra, and discrete math. Suggestions for additional classes are given, including differential geometry, functional analysis, and group theory. There is a discussion about the differences between mathematics and physics, with suggestions for which subjects may be more relevant for different fields of physics. The importance of geometry, topology, and group theory in physics is also mentioned.
Forever_searcher
I am studying mathematics bachelor and next semester I have to choose some modules. I am really interested in physics, especially particle physics and quantum mechanics. So I am taking partial differential equations and Stochastic processes or Geometry and topology.
There are also numercal analysis, algebra and discrete math classes.
Any suggestions would be very appreciated 🙂

Likes PeroK
Physics news on Phys.org
:welcome:

Likes Forever_searcher
Forever_searcher said:
I am studying mathematics bachelor and next semester I have to choose some modules. I am really interested in physics, especially particle physics and quantum mechanics. So I am taking partial differential equations and Stochastic processes or Geometry and topology.
There are also numercal analysis, algebra and discrete math classes.
Any suggestions would be very appreciated 🙂
Differential equations and stochastics are probably better than geometry and topology. I would add differential geometry and functional analysis.