1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics From physics to EE

Tags:
  1. Mar 20, 2017 #1
    Hello everyone, I am currently studying physics (2nd course) and dreaming about becoming an electrical energineer. I am sure that once I am finished bachelor studies I will go for a master degree in EE. But will it grant me an engineer job? I am highly interested in an electrical engineering, especially in renewable energy and I am currently studying electrical engineering subjects on my own like circuit design and so on.
    Also I have skills in graphic engineering ( AutoCad, SolidWork), programming with c++, HTML, PHP.

Almost forgot to mention that I took 60 credits ( apx. 1 year ) of electrical engineering in my physics courses.

And how is the situation abroad ( USA, UK ) within physic's graduates getting an engineering job? I am from Eastern Europe.

Many thanks for the answers.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 20, 2017 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to the PF. :smile:

If you want to work as an EE eventually, why don't you just switch majors now? I agree that physics is more fun to study than EE :biggrin:, but upper-division (the last 2 years) for physics and EE are very different. And trying t\o make that up in graduate school kind of is a waste of graduate school time, IMO.

As for getting a job as an EE, I look for applicable experience or background when interviewing EE candidates. If most of your background and experience is in physics, that will put you at a disadvantage in EE interviews, I believe.

4. Mar 21, 2017 #3
    Hey!