Proving Open/Closed Sets: Functional Analysis in C [0,1]

In summary, the conversation is about someone asking for help with proving that two sets, A and B, are open and closed. They are struggling with understanding the concept and are advised to sketch the graph of a given function and use that to prove their observations. They thank the person for their advice and plan to try it out.
patricia-donn
Hello
Would anyone out there be able to help me with a problem I'm having? I have to prove that a function is open and that another is closed. The question is:

Consider C [0,1] with the sup metric. Let f:[0,1]→R be the function given by f(x)=x²+2
Let A={g Є C[0,1]: d(g,f) > 3}. Prove that A is an open set
Let B={g Є C[0,1]: 1 ≤ d(g,f) ≤ 3}. Prove that B is a closed set

I'm new to all of this and just don't know what to do even with the f(x)=x²+2 part so if anyone out there can shed some light, I'd be really grateful!

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
You're trying to prove that sets are open and closed, not functions. I suggest you sketch the graph of f. Here, d(f,g) represents the maximum distance between two continuous functions f and g. So play around with the sketch, and then try to prove your observations.

morphism said:
You're trying to prove that sets are open and closed, not functions. I suggest you sketch the graph of f. Here, d(f,g) represents the maximum distance between two continuous functions f and g. So play around with the sketch, and then try to prove your observations.

Thank you for your advice, I'll try that and see how I get on

Thanks again

1. What is a closed set in functional analysis?

A closed set in functional analysis is a subset of a metric space that contains all of its limit points. This means that every convergent sequence within the subset must have its limit point also within the subset. In simpler terms, a closed set is a set that includes all of its boundary points.

2. How do you prove a set is closed in functional analysis?