1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Funky limit solutions?

1. Mar 6, 2013 #1
    funky limit solutions??

hey guys, this is my first post, and absolutely love this site! Anyways, I've been studying some calculus to get ahead of the game before university and I came across a few limit questions that I solved, but I don't really know HOW I solved them and by that, I mean, with some of the substitutions, I got some limits that seem intuitive to me, but I don't really know why they are that way.. Forgive my latex if it doesn't end up lookin all pretty, Im pretty new to it. So I was hoping anybody could take a look at these 3 questions and let me know whatsup?
    1) \begin{equation*}
    \lim_{x\rightarrow \infty}x\,{\sin{\frac{1}{x}}}\quad \text{let}\,a=\frac{1}{x}\\\\\quad\therefore \lim_{x\rightarrow\infty}a= \lim_{a \rightarrow 0}a=0\\\\\qquad \therefore \lim_{x\rightarrow\infty}x\sin\frac{1}{x}=\lim_{a \rightarrow 0}\frac{\sin(a)}{a}=1\\\\\quad\therefore\lim_{x \rightarrow \infty}x\sin{\frac{1}{x}}=1
    \end{equation*}

2) \begin{equation*}
    \lim_{x\rightarrow 1}\frac{\sin(x-1)}{x^2+x-2}\\\\=\lim_{x\rightarrow1}\frac{\sin(x-1)}{(x+2)(x-1)}\\\\\text{let}\,a=x-1\qquad \therefore\,a+3=x+2\\\\ *\lim_{x\rightarrow 1}(x-1)=0\Rightarrow \lim_{a\rightarrow0}a=0\\\\ \therefore \lim_{x\rightarrow}\frac{\sin(x-1)}{(x+2)(x-1)}=\lim_{a\rightarrow0}\frac{\sin(a)}{a(a+3)}\\\\=(\lim_{a\rightarrow 0}\frac{1}{a+3}) (\lim_{a\rightarrow 0}\frac{\sin(a)}{a})\\\\=\frac{1}{3}
    \end{equation*}

\begin{equation*}