1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Funny differentiation

1. Apr 6, 2008 #1
    we are given some component of a vector potential A

A = B\displaystyle\int^d_0 I(t')\,dt'

where d = t -z/c
    and B = constant=1/2 mu0 (permeability constant) x c (speed of light)

the derivation then wants me to calculate the magnetic field from this vector potential which is

\vec B = \nabla \times A = \frac{d\(A}{dz} \vec j

where d/dz is meant to be partial diff

the result that is arrived at is

[tex] \vec B = CI(t-(z/c))\vec j[/tex]

C= +/- 1/2 x(permeability constant)

the step eludes me. i was fine until this point. i tried hitting it with the chain rule, and i suspect that the solution involves this somehow.

p.s. i'm new to latex, so if you think some information is missing, or the equations are simply not showing, It'd be great if someone could tell me, cheers.
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 6, 2008 #2

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Please clarify. You say that d= t- z/c but you haven't told us what that has to do with I(t').
  4. Apr 6, 2008 #3

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

… funny ? … it's the way you tell it … !

Hi bman!! :smile:

You want ∂/∂z of [tex]\displaystyle\int^s_0 I(t')\,dt'[/tex] , where s depends on z.

(I'm using s instead of d, because d is ridiculous when you have derivatives. :frown:)

This is simply I(s) times (∂s/∂z).

Hint: Put I(t') = (d/dt')(J(t')). :smile:
  5. Apr 6, 2008 #4
    I'm assuming J(t') is the higher inegral function (from fundamental theorem of calculus:

[tex]\int_a^x f(t)dt= F(x) - F(a)[/tex]

where [tex] \frac{d}{dx}F(x) = f(x)[/tex]