1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Future of theoretical Physics

1. May 1, 2013 #1
    Okay Hello Forum
    Im a student in high school atm
    and Im extremely passionate about Mathematics(pure and computational) and Theoretical Physics
    I may be young and ambitious and whatnot at this point of my life but I'd really love some feedback to guide me on a clearer path... so I wanted to go into Quantum Field theory and I was debating with my dad earlier ..according to him you need to take an engineering subject alongside so as to be on the safe side of things but to be honest Im more focussed on the theoretical side of Physics . Anyway so my questions are as follows and any correction in my notion of becoming a physicist would be appreciated.
    1) Does the theoretical side of Physics have any scope in today's day and age?
    2) Assuming that I wanted to go into Quantum field theory and whatnot , what would I be doing after my Masters ? or phD for that matter ... As in how would I go about making a living out of it?
    3)What is the future of Theoretical Physics?
    4) The job market and job opportunities? Do most people with a Physics degree end up teaching in highschools and whatnot?

P.S. I apologise for the poor presentation of my questions , Im very young but I need to know and I'd love to correct any wrong notions I possess so please go easy on me :P

Thank you !!

2. jcsd
  3. May 1, 2013 #2
    Note that in the field of physics "theoretical" has a meaning that is different than it is to the public. What the public calls "theoretical physics" the physics community would call "hypothetical physics".