Create Gaussian Function from Coords: Learn Integration & Matrix

In summary, The user is new and wants to create a Gaussian function using coordinates. They already have the function and need to find the values of a, b, and c. They ask for help with using integration and if it's possible to solve with a matrix. They mention that a power function or any function with the closest curve fit will also work. They are suggested to try a least squares fit using a second degree polynomial on the logarithm of the data.
SHRock
I am completely new to this so bare with me.

I have co-ordinates and I want to create a Gaussian function. I already know the function which is

y=0.01235140544*e^(-(x-36.28663863)^2/(-135.1643617))

But I need to know how to get a,b,c

The Coordinates are

{35,.01}
{28,0.03}
{20,.1}
{15,.3}
{11,1}
{9,3}
{6,10}
{4.5,30}

Thanks

Edit: If your going to use integration then please give a basis or send a link to website where I can learn integration. Also is it possible to solve with a matrix. Well I don't really need a gaussian function, a power function will also work or any function with the closest curve fit

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
SHRock said:
I am completely new to this so bare with me.

Well, I'm certainly not going to take off my clothes with you. :blushing:

I have co-ordinates and I want to create a Gaussian function. I already know the function which is

y=0.01235140544*e^(-(x-36.28663863)^2/(-135.1643617))

But I need to know how to get a,b,c

The Coordinates are

{35,.01}
{28,0.03}
{20,.1}
{15,.3}
{11,1}
{9,3}
{6,10}
{4.5,30}

Thanks

Edit: If your going to use integration then please give a basis or send a link to website where I can learn integration. Also is it possible to solve with a matrix. Well I don't really need a gaussian function, a power function will also work or any function with the closest curve fit