1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Gauss's Law

1. Jul 17, 2006 #1
    Hello, everyone. I have a problem that I solved using Gauss's Law. However, I am unconfident in my answers, as I have very little experience with Gauss's Law.

The surfaces of two large (i.e. infinite) parallel conducting plates have charge densities as follows: [tex]\sigma_1[/tex] on the top of the top plate; [tex]-\sigma_2[/tex] on the bottom of the top plate; [tex]\sigma_2[/tex] on the top of the bottom plate; [tex]-\sigma_1[/tex] on the bottom of the bottom plate; [tex]\sigma_1 > \sigma_2[/tex]. Use Gauss's law and symmetry to calculate the electric field below, between, and above the plates.​
    Here's how I did it:
    I made a gaussian surface - a cylinder that cut through both of the plates with radius [tex]r[/tex] - in order to find the electric field above and below the plates. Then, I used Gauss's law:
    [tex]\oint \vec{E}\cdot \,d\vec{A} = E\oint \,dA = \frac{q_{inside}}{\epsilon_0}[/tex].
    This is the part that I doubt myself:
    [tex]E(\pi r^2 + \pi r^2) = \frac{\pi r^2(\sigma_1 - \sigma_2 + \sigma_2 - \sigma_1)}{\epsilon_0} = 0[/tex]
    So I concluded that below and above the plates the electric field was zero. But this did not make sense to me. Are my calculations correct? Did I put the gaussian surface in the correct place to find the electric field above and below the plates?