Gear Noise Protection - Getriebekapselung

In summary, a technical translator from Germany is in search of an English term for "Getriebekapselung", which refers to a case/protection around a gearbox that reduces noise emission. The suggested term is "transmission encapsulation" and it is commonly used in the noise reduction industry.
Translatech
Hello,

I'm a technical translator from Germany and urgently looking for a particular term:

It describes a kind of case/protection around the gearbox which reduces noise emission.

The German term is "Getriebekapselung" ("getriebe" = gear, kapselung = "protection/case/capsule?"

Is there a corresponding English term?

Thanks you very much in advance.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Hi, Translatech;
How precise does this have to be? If there's one very specific scientific term for it, I don't know what it is. In a less rigorous situation, it could be called sound insulation, a sound dampening case (or shell), a noise dampener, silencing shield, muffler, hearing protector, some mish-mash of any or all of the above, or something else that I have yet to come up with. I'll keep thinking on it.

Last edited:
Translatech said:
Hello,

I'm a technical translator from Germany and urgently looking for a particular term:

It describes a kind of case/protection around the gearbox which reduces noise emission.

The German term is "Getriebekapselung" ("getriebe" = gear, kapselung = "protection/case/capsule?"

Is there a corresponding English term?

Thanks you very much in advance.

Welcome to the PF. Can you supply some links to photographs or other things that would help us to provide a name?

Hi Danger,

thank you for your answer.

It's a specific term that I am looking for.

I've finally opted for "transmission encapsulation".

I hope that works in English.

Thanks also to berkeman. I'm afraid I haven't got any picture.

The most common term used in the noise reduction industry is "encapsulation".