Gel filtration chromatography

• Thread starter hyddro
  • Start date
Hi,
I am studying for my biochemistry lab exam. While going over one of the questions... I came across one that I can't answer...help will be appreciated.

Question under analysis is related to a previous question.

(Previous question)
A gel filtration (size exlcusion) is set up and the following monomeric proteins are separated
The buffer used was: 20mM Tris-HCl, pH 7.0, 150 mM NaCl.
Protein A = 6 KDa
Protein B = 22 KDa
Protein C = 190 KDa
Protein D = 80 kDa

Predict the order of elution.

I understand that in a size exclusion chromatography, larger molecules elute first.. hence the order would be:

C, D, B, A.

(Question under analysis).
In the previous question a certain protein X ( M.W. = 20 kDa) eluted at about the time as protein C... what does this tell you about protein X?

I don't know what would this tell me about protein X... does it have something to do with the fact that protein X may be able to form dimers or polymers? (I.e. Hemoglobin with 4 different subunits, a dimer of αβ-protomer?

Thanks in advance

Last edited:

Answers and Replies

Ygggdrasil
Science Advisor
Insights Author
Gold Member
Hi,
I am studying for my biochemistry lab exam. While going over one of the questions... I came across one that I can't answer...help will be appreciated.

Question under analysis is related to a previous question.

(Previous question)
A gel filtration (size exlcusion) is set up and the following monomeric proteins are separated
The buffer used was: 20mM Tris-HCl, pH 7.0, 150 mM NaCl.
Protein A = 6 KDa
Protein B = 22 KDa
Protein C = 190 KDa
Protein D = 80 kDa

Predict the order of elution.

I understand that in a size exclusion chromatography, larger molecules elute first.. hence the order would be:

C, D, B, A.

Yes, that's correct.

(Question under analysis).