Should I Retake the General GRE if My PGRE Scores are Average?

In summary, the speaker is a former teacher who recently earned a Physics degree and is now considering pursuing a Masters in Physics, Astrophysics, Astronomy, or Aerospace Engineering. They are waiting for their PGRE scores and are confident they will be in the 40-50th percentile. They are considering retaking the General GRE, but are unsure if it will make a difference. They also ask if their PGRE scores will be enough to demonstrate their ability, especially for Aerospace Engineering programs. The speaker is advised that they may not get into top institutions but could still be accepted into mid-tier state schools with a GPA above 3.0, particularly in Louisiana.
warriorzizi
Hello,

I'm an ex-teacher (4 years) who got her Physics degree (with minor in Math) in 2010. I have a Masters in Teaching and went straight into teaching high school.
I have since decided I wanted to go back to school for Physics/Astrophysics/Astronomy/Aerospace Engineering (still deciding which exactly I want to do). Most likely for a Masters.
I will get my PGRE scores back in a few weeks and based on my practice exams, I'm confident that I will end up in the 40-50th percentile. My General GRE scores were spread: Verbal - 160 (85th percentile), Quantitative - 157 (68th percentile), Analytical - 4.5 (80th percentile).
I was unhappy with my math score, but happy with the other scores. I'm good at math, but I sometimes need time to noodle on things and the general GRE is not set up for that. I'm afraid that spending another $195 and taking the test again will not help me much. That said, I'm willing to take it again.

My question:
If my PGRE scores come back in the 40-50th percentile range, should I worry about retaking the General GRE? Or let my PGRE scores speak to my ability?
Will the answer to that question be different if I apply to Aerospace Engineering since they don't require the PGRE?

Thanks everyone!