1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

General Physics doubt-please help

1. Sep 2, 2008 #1
    For small angles theta, the numerical value of sin theta is approximately the same as the

numerical value of tan theta.Find the largest angle for which sine and tangent agree to within

two significant figures.
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 2, 2008 #2
  4. Sep 2, 2008 #3
    I'm just learning this myself, but I would make a triangle, with an extremely long adjacent side and plug in values for theta (I think you'll have to find the opposite side for each angle). I'm not really too sure where that would lead, or if it's the right advice, but it's a place to start. Find an angle that is equal to just two (I think) significant figures and then add small increments to theta. Take this advice with a grain of salt though.
  5. Sep 2, 2008 #4
    hmm well basically its saying find the highest value of Ø such as sin(Ø) = tan(Ø) up to the second decimal place. im guessing alot of guessing/checking?
  6. Sep 2, 2008 #5

Homework Helper

What do you know about the approximations that might lead you to be able to calculate it without guessing about it?

What is the approximation of

[tex]Sin\theta \approx \Delta x[/tex]

[tex]Tan\theta \approx \Delta x[/tex]

based on?
  7. Sep 2, 2008 #6
    im not sure what you mean
  8. Sep 2, 2008 #7
    i need to submit my assignment by 7 in the morning, so if you could be more clear. Thank You
  9. Sep 2, 2008 #8

Homework Helper

[tex]Sin x \approx x[/tex]

[tex]Tan x \approx \ x[/tex]

[tex]Tan x = \frac{Sin x}{Cos x} \approx \frac{x}{1 - x}[/tex]

So what is the difference between the 2? That is what you want to identify where the divergence occurs.
  10. Sep 2, 2008 #9