1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Generalized Spin Matrices

1. Dec 16, 2008 #1
    If I am to try and derive a set of 3x3 matrices analogous to the Pauli matrices, how would I go about doing this? I want to find the basis for all complex 3x3 matrices (analagous to the 3 Pauli matrices and the identity matrix for all complex 2x2 matrices) to expand a complicated matrix into so that I can derive a simpler expression. I've only just taken a basic linear algebra class, so I am not an EXPERT in vector spaces. Can anyone help me with this?

This is NOT homework for me, just pure theory, so I didn't post it in the homework forum.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 16, 2008 #2

Fredrik

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I don't know, but the Pauli matrices are easy to find by explicitly calculating the most general form of a traceless self-adjoint ([itex]A=A^\dagger[/itex]) 2×2 matrix, so maybe you can start by doing something like that.

4. Dec 16, 2008 #3

George Jones

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I don't know how useful this is for your purposes, but 3x3 generalizations of the Pauli matrices used in physics are the Gell-Mann matrices,

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gell-Mann_matrices.

5. Dec 16, 2008 #4
    thanks a lot! that should help me a lot, i will reincarnate this forum if i need further help

6. Jan 2, 2009 #5