Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Generated by the singletons

1. Oct 7, 2013 #1
    Hello,

I just started a prob theory class and i'm a total beginner. I can't find the definition of the following anywhere:
    1) What does it mean for a set to be generated by the singletons? In other words, how do I show a certain set is generated by the singletons
    2) Similarly, what does it mean to be generated by a collection of sets?

My guess: A set generated by the singletons (or a collection of sets) means that that set can be formed by taking all the singletons and unioning them and complementing them, which leads us to a borel field?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 7, 2013 #2

jbunniii

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

It is meaningless to say that a SET is generated by singletons. But one can start with a set, say ##X##, and a collection ##B## of subsets of ##X##, and consider the algebra (aka field) generated by ##B##. This is simply the smallest algebra that can be defined on ##X## which includes all of the subsets in ##B##. Equivalently, it is the intersection of all algebras on ##X## which contain ##B##.

In your case, you have some set ##X## and can define ##B## to be the set of all singletons in ##X##. Then there is some smallest algebra which contains all the singletons, namely the intersection of all algebras that contain all the singletons.

4. Oct 8, 2013 #3