Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Genetics Project

1. Nov 18, 2004 #1
    Hi all,

I am a grade 11 biology student. I have this genetics project coming up in a few weeks, and I am allowed to research on anything I would like. Could you please help me and try to come up with some really good topics for my project? Thanks. (btw, someone else in my class is already working on foresnic science/DNA fingerprinting, so i cant do that)

thanks all

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 18, 2004 #2

Moonbear

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Do you just need to write a report about a topic in genetics, or do you need to do something that includes some sort of experiment/demonstration?

What generally interests you in biology? Maybe we can help you find something that fits your interest so it will be more fun for you to work on the project.

4. Nov 18, 2004 #3
    well, there are several components to the project. but mainly, the end product would be a presentation (probably only informational) and a brochure for the class. my biggest interest was in forensice science, but unfortunately someone else has taken that topic. im also interested in evolution, which has something to do with genetics (i think)

5. Nov 18, 2004 #4
    try to find some book on Evolutionary Computation......if you dont find a topic for your project,try to solve travelling salesman problem using DNA computing....the procedure is very simple...map the parameters in travelling salesman problem to A,T,C,G components in a DNA.Now mix the solutions and you can find the optimized path.Many books illustrate mathmatical solution for travelling salesman problem....Hope this helps

Regards
    drdolittle

6. Nov 18, 2004 #5
    thanks drdolittle,