What is the Purpose of the Geodesic Equation in General Relativity?

In summary: Yes, that's definitely true. In general, solving coupled differential equations is a bit like trying to unlock a puzzle where you don't know all of the pieces. Sometimes you can get a good start by solving for one or two of the variables, but eventually you'll need to start using some guesswork in order to get further.This sounds a bit like solving coupled differential equations is based on guesswork.
space-time
I started studying the geodesic equation:

2xμ/∂s2 = - Γμab(∂xa/∂s)(∂xb/∂s)

where the term s is proper time according to the wiki(https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geodesics_in_general_relativity).
The 2nd derivative on the left side of the equation is the acceleration in the xμ direction.

Now my question is:

When I solve the geodesic equation, what exactly am I trying to solve for? Am I solving for s (or rather am I supposed to plug in information into the equation in order to derive s)? If not s, then what exactly am I solving for? If you already have your Christoffel symbols derived, then you should have already long had your xμ functions derived (which is why I don't think you are solving for xμ).

To be honest, this equation seems more to me like the Euler - Lagrange equations in the sense that, the main purpose doesn't seem to be to solve the equation, but more so to plug in known information in order to derive equations of motion.

Physics news on Phys.org
space-time said:
When I solve the geodesic equation, what exactly am I trying to solve for?

The function ##x^{\mu} (s)## that describes a geodesic worldline. Since it's a second order differential equation, you will need to specify two initial conditions in order to obtain a unique solution--usually these are ##x^{\mu}## and ##dx^{\mu} / ds## at ##s = 0##.

space-time said:
If you already have your Christoffel symbols derived, then you should have already long had your xμ functions derived