1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Geometry for physics

1. Dec 14, 2015 #1
    I'm in 11th grade right now, and I would like to know whether or not I should spend my time learning geometry as my high-school education system places zero emphasis on geometry. If so, what type of geometry should I start with? (euclidean, analytic, differential, non euclidean?)

by the time this school year ends I will have finished Calc I-III, (up to partial derivatives, vector Calc, multiple integrals, first order differential equations etc).

I would like to major in physics but my parents and I both think ee is much more practical, for the mean time, I'm just studying math for fun.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 14, 2015 #2
    Well if you're studying math for fun you should definitely study Euclidean Geometry. It's amazing to see how geometry was developed from a set of postulates and axioms by Euclid. As for physics I don't know how much geometry is required for physics (I'm in high school!)

4. Dec 14, 2015 #3
    Differential, nonEuclidian geometry is important in physics, but as with anything, you have to work your way through the basics (Euclidian geometry) since it will continually be used throughout your physics education (especially trig)

Although if you've already finished vector calc, you hopefully should have a good grasp on E geometry. You could start studying diff geometry after having vector calc down, as many of the ideas extend/generalize.