Should I Improve My Skills in C or Python During My Vacation?

• Thread starter SuperMiguel
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Python
In summary: C, then use C. But, if you really do know C better, you can always code in C from Python. But that's a different subject.In summary, I recommend learning C during your vacation. As a Computer Engineering student, C will be more relevant to your future work and learning it will provide a strong foundation for understanding other languages. However, if you have specific goals or interests, Python may be a better choice. Ultimately, the most important thing is to have clear goals and direction in your learning process.
SuperMiguel
Im a Comp Eng student, and i have about 2 month of vacation, but i really got nothing to do.. I know C better than python, just wonder if in this 2 months, what you guys recommend i should get better at C or at python?

Note: those are the only two languages i know so I am open to other recommendations.

Technology news on Phys.org
SuperMiguel said:
Im a Comp Eng student, and i have about 2 month of vacation, but i really got nothing to do.. I know C better than python, just wonder if in this 2 months, what you guys recommend i should get better at C or at python?

Note: those are the only two languages i know so I am open to other recommendations.

Hey SuperMiguel.

For your question, and given you are a Computer Engineering student, I recommend you progressing with C.

The reason behind my suggestion is that C is a kind of low high-level language that is used extensively for multi-platform design, and in particular for environments where you use specialized forms of the language to directly program custom hardware platforms.

Being a computer engineer means having a tendency to work in these kinds of environments as opposed to the much higher level ones commonly used in the standard x64 or similar environment on say a Windows OS.