Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Get better at C or at Python

1. Jul 7, 2012 #1
    Im a Comp Eng student, and i have about 2 month of vacation, but i really got nothing to do.. I know C better than python, just wonder if in this 2 months, what you guys recommend i should get better at C or at python?

Note: those are the only two languages i know so im open to other recommendations.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 7, 2012 #2

jambaugh

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

4. Jul 7, 2012 #3

chiro

Science Advisor

Hey SuperMiguel.

For your question, and given you are a Computer Engineering student, I recommend you progressing with C.

The reason behind my suggestion is that C is a kind of low high-level language that is used extensively for multi-platform design, and in particular for environments where you use specialized forms of the language to directly program custom hardware platforms.

Being a computer engineer means having a tendency to work in these kinds of environments as opposed to the much higher level ones commonly used in the standard x64 or similar environment on say a Windows OS.

The other reason for getting C down is that once you really know what is going on with C, you will be able to take that knowledge and apply it to anything else. A few examples are in order:

Firstly, if you are able to debug anything effectively in C whether it's some kind of memory access error (which represents a majority of the problems), some kind of stack error, allocation error, device error, library error, and so on, then when you move to another environment like say an interpreted language like Python or even something like .NET, you will be able to at least get a pretextual picture of what is probably going wrong, because you will understand things at the memory, device, and other levels.