Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Getting fat

1. Sep 29, 2011 #1
    I am getting fat. Since I graduated college, I don't know what to do and I don't really know anyone to work out with. Here's the thing: I can't run or do elliptical machines. I just get so bored and I can never commit to it. I love racquetball, but I don't have anyone to play with.

Can you guys help me brainstorm some cardio exercises that are more...contained? The thing is I need to have a start and end point. Like biking around a particular path, or winning X number of games.

What are exercises that you guys can do by yourselves and stay motivated?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 29, 2011 #2

Pengwuino

Gold Member

Join the Army

4. Sep 29, 2011 #3

Ivan Seeking

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Take one some sort of heavy labor job for however many hours a week. This way you get the exercise, you have a goal, and make money while you're doing it. You could start by running a weed eater at my place for about ten hours, as payment for the advice. :biggrin:

5. Sep 30, 2011 #4
    You just gotta find something and do it. I dunno, I've been active my whole life, and the last few years I've slowed down a lot, friends aren't around for activities, I'm busy, <insert excuse here> but you just have to get out there. I like riding my bike. It's (very) low impact, it's fast when I wanna go fast (I like going fast), and I actually get places on it (ie. 5-10-20km away) so I try to think about riding when I think about driving. I probably only get in an hour a week, max, but it's a great cardio workout. I also keep a dumbell in my room and try to do pushups, situps and a few arm curls and whatnot when I wake up in the morning, or while I'm watching a movie, or whatever.