Which field should I choose for grad school - math or physics?

In summary, dww is a first year undergraduate student who is interested in both math and physics. She is currently taking lower division math and physics courses, but plans to take upper division courses to increase her chances of being admitted to a graduate program. She recommends double majoring if you are interested in both fields, as the degree of difficulty for each program will be similar.
dww
Well, I'm only a First Year Undergrad now but I know I want to go to grad school one day

I have two subjects I'm very interested in, math and physics and I'm struggling with picking one, so I was wondering which am I worse off in with grad school prospects so far as that may help me decide which to go with

so I go to UCLA (first year undergrad)

physics- I'm barely taking my first Physics class (1A if you know the school) right now, third quarter in college (final of first year)
math- I've gotten some lower grades B+ in 32A A- in 32B (but A in 33A and anticipating an A in 33B) these classes are essentially all the prep classes for the major, Lower divisions as they call them here, so I've gotten lower grades in two math classes but am much farther along and can be taking classes for only math majors already next year.

Thank you

Physics news on Phys.org
Start taking upper division courses. Lower division courses don't give you any real feeling for what a major has to offer. Figure out which you like more and then pursue that. If you like both, go for both! You'll eventually become comfortable in deciding which graduate path you want to take if you do both.

Dear dww,

Deciding to attend graduate school - and picking a field - is one of the most important decisions that you'll make in academic and professional life.