1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Getting Started in Physics?

1. Jun 26, 2014 #1
    Hi. I’m a freshman at a US high school. Recently, I took an introductory physics course, and it was by far my favorite class. I have a deep passion for science, and I am good at mathematics (I have really solid skills up to precalc). I’ve always liked being able to describe interactions using mathematics, and learning about the abstract concepts studied in physics. I know that I haven’t taken complex physics yet, but so far, I’ve really enjoyed learning about everything that I’ve encountered, and I think that I will want to pursue a career in physics based research.
    What should I be doing at this stage in my life to put myself in a good position to explore physics? Also, does anyone know of any opportunities available for high school students in the US to learn more about physics and/or talk with other people interested in physics or physics-associated fields? Any thoughtful advice would be really helpful.

I really appreciate the help of people who have been in this situation.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 26, 2014 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

There's several possibilities based on your curiosity, drive and determination:

Learn calculus
    Read the physics for IB Diploma book by tsokos (1st year undergrad level)
    Read the Feynman lectures

Alternatively

Learn some programming in java with Eclipse or Netbeans
    Play with the Open Source Physics code at www.compadre.org to learn computational physics

More advanced
    Learn Vector Calculus
    Read Goldstein Classical Mechanics (2nd/3rd year undergrad level)

Lastly, look at t'Hooft's website

http://www.staff.science.uu.nl/~hooft101/theorist.html