Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Gibbs Free Energy and Enthalpy

1. Nov 8, 2016 #1
    When I studied chemistry in high school, I learnt that if the change of enthalpy of a reaction ΔH > 0 , the reaction is endothermic, and if ΔH<0, it is exothermic.
    However in thermodynamic class, I learnt:
    $$ ΔG = ΔH - TΔS $$
    For a reaction of a battery, the data reads
    ΔG = -394kJ/mol. (which is also the electrical work by the battery), ΔH = -316kJ/mol.
    The book then said that the difference (78kJ/mol.) comes from absorbing heat from the environment. So is this an endothermic reaction? However, ΔH<0. Is the system in fact absorbing heat or releasing heat?

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 9, 2016 #2

Bystander

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

If the battery is maintained at constant temperature while it is doing the electrical work it will absorb that amount of heat from the environment and convert that heat to electrical work.

4. Nov 9, 2016 #3
    Can I say I can't determine whether the process is endothermic or not only by looking at the enthalpy?

5. Nov 9, 2016 #4
    Looking at the enthalpy change determines whether the reaction is exothermic or endothermic.

6. Nov 9, 2016 #5
    Um... but the system apparently is absorbing heat from the ambient?

7. Nov 9, 2016 #6
    Who says?

8. Nov 9, 2016 #7
    The book then said that the difference (78kJ/mol.) comes from absorbing heat from the environment.

9. Nov 9, 2016 #8
    What book is this?

10. Nov 9, 2016 #9