Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Girl with no classes together

1. Nov 28, 2013 #1
    So I'm in my final year of high school and there's this girl I think is cute and would like to get to know. However we have no classes together and I've only ever had one class with her back in grade 10. I see her in the halls and the cafeteria, she usually sits at a table near mine. I'm not really friends with any of her friends so just going up to her when she's with her friends would be kinda awkward. Any help in this situation would be appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 28, 2013 #2
    If this advice was from me to younger me, I'd say do it anyway. Also, don't fret over what may happen, it will only make a simple thing more complicated.

4. Nov 29, 2013 #3

Astronuc

Staff: Mentor

Just start saying 'Hi' while passing in the hallway. No guarantee of success, but at least one tried.

Many of the girls I dated during university did not have classes with me. I usually met them at events outside of class.

5. Nov 30, 2013 #4
    I guess I'll try that.... it just seems weird randomly saying hi to her considering we've never spoken before

6. Dec 2, 2013 #5
    Smile at her while saying 'hi'. Make her a compliment. Maybe approach her when she is in group of two or three people and come up with a pretext to ask the group something (have you guys seeing teacher X coming by?).

7. Dec 30, 2013 #6

Chronos

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Don't be obvious about it, she might think you are interested. Try something subtle like, 'hi, I'm [insert name], would you like to go see [insert event of choice] with me now/tonight/tomorrow/etc.?" Even if her first response is 'drop dead', she will find an excuse to resume the conversation sooner or later. If you do it front of her friends, all the better. They will be quite jealous and might even put a good word in for you.