1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Giving people tutoring

1. Apr 23, 2012 #1
    I'm a 3rd year chemistry student and I put my name on a list of people offering tutoring, I stated that I can give tutoring to 1st years. I got a call a few days ago so I am scheduled to give a tutoring session. This is the first time I've done this so I don't know how well I can do it. I got a load of first year exam papers and I am doing them right now (excellent revision) so when I see the guy, I'm gonna show him how to do all the questions on the past exam papers and explain to him all the theory behind it as I go. Is that a good approach? I'm worried that when I get there, there'll be stuff that I have forgotten and won't be able to explain. I'm only charging him half price though so I'd say he won't mind if theres a question or two I can't answer. For example, in organic chem, I don't remember every step of every mechanism of the common reaction classes so I'll have to look it up. I can explain to him the theory behind why the steps of the mechanisms occur though which should be helpful.

I'm guessing lots of you here have experience with this. Is this exam paper approach a good one?

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 23, 2012 #2

lisab

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I think that's a good back-up approach. I suggest first asking him what he's struggling with. If he's unsure or vague, then go to the exam questions.

4. Apr 23, 2012 #3

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Not everybody may think this, but occasionally forgetting something as a tutor can be a great thing. It shows the student that you're only human and not perfect. Furthermore, you can then show the student how to deal with unknown information.