How to Produce Glass Tubes for Industrial Use?

• Thread starter hkBattousai
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Glass
In summary, the speaker is planning to use glass tubes in a project and wants to produce them themselves in order to save money. They ask for guidance on how to start and the cost involved. The other person warns that setting up a glass tubing production line may be more expensive and difficult than expected, and suggests researching the Danner Process and Vello Process as starting points.
hkBattousai
Shortly: How is glass tube produced?

I'm currently working on a project, in which I am planning to use glass tubes of sizes 1.5m length, 1.8mm thickness, 4cm and 5cm outer diameters. It will be cost effective to produce my own glass tubes when I start the mass production of the overall product, therefore I'm planning to do so.

However, I have no knowledge nor experience about glass tube production. I don't even know how to search for it by Google. Can you please help me by giving me a starting point about glass tube production? What machinery & tools will I need? How much money do I have to invest for this purpose?

Any help will be appreciated.

Chemistry news on Phys.org
I think you may be underestimating the cost and expertise required to set up a glass tubing production line, as well as the volume required to break even. I've never seen a facility *other* than a glass factory that produced its own tubing, but I've seen a lot of factories, large multi-lab institutions, glass workshops, etc. that purchase it as raw stock.

But decide for yourself. The two processes you need to research are the Danner Process and the Vello Process. Both are pretty well explained on the web.

1. What are the main materials used in glass tube/pipe production?

The main materials used in glass tube/pipe production are silica sand, soda ash, limestone, and other additives such as borax and aluminum oxide.

2. What is the process of making glass tubes/pipes?