Are Different Charged Gluons Repulsive in the Gluon-Gluon Four-Point Vertex?

• I
  • Thread starter simplemind
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Vertex
In summary, the conversation discusses six different Feynman graphs for the Four-Point vertex in QCD. The first of these graphs shows two gluons meeting at a point and going away. The question is asked whether two different charged gluons interacting in this way are repulsive. However, it is explained that calculating just one diagram is not sufficient and all diagrams must be considered together. The conversation ends with the conclusion that it is not possible to give an answer to this question.
simplemind
Hello,

First,i am an absolute beginner in QCD.

As i have seen there are six different Feynmangraphs for the Four-Point vertex.
Swordfish,Box,...

I am interested in the first of the six where the two gluons met in a point and goes away.
My question now is.
If for this case two different charged Gluons interact are they repulsive?

I am reading

https://link.springer.com/article/10.1140/epjc/s10052-020-8260-8

and take a look on the picture on (5.14)

I am interested in the action of the first of the three posibilities the cross and not the lines.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
simplemind said:
i am an absolute beginner in CCD
I think you mean QCD.

simplemind said:
first of the six
There is no standard counting. "First" does not specify.

simplemind said:
If for this case

You can't get a physical quantity by calculating one diagram (it likely won't even be finite). You need to calculate the sum of all diagrams that contribute to a process.

Thanks but i only want to know if the first component acts repulsive or not.
From the sign it is different to the two negative others.
I think it is possible to anwer.

simplemind said:
i only want to know if the first component acts repulsive or not