1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Going Further in Physics

1. Sep 12, 2008 #1
    I'm currently a freshman undergrad and I'm probably going to be majoring in math, physics, cs. Now, the thing is I studied quantum physics I (pretty much Griffiths chapters 1 - 5) over the summer before entering freshman year. I'm still taking the quantum mechanics course in my school, though.

Now, my goals are:

1. Score a 990 on the Physics GRE.
    2. Become familiarized with introductory string theory before I leave undergrad (hopefully before or during my junior year, because I really want to attend this research camp for undergraduates in CERN)
    3. Publish a few articles in physics research (mainly experimental, but string theory, I have heard, is literally impossible to do experimental research in... maybe that will change after the LHC..) before I leave undergrad so that grad school will like me.

I'm currently studying quantum physics II, electrostatics/magnetostatics/electrodynamics on my own using griffiths (both his texts). I'm probably going to be studying special relativity on my own next semester, though I am pretty familiar with most of the material in it, including Lorentz transformations and a bit of four-vector formalism.