Is getting a masters from a top grad school worth an extra year of schooling?

• Thread starter pete5383
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Masters
In summary: I want to know what they know! :)In summary, getting a masters from a top school such as Stanford or MIT is helpful, but it takes an extra year and it's worth it. Double majoring in EE and Physics would help in getting a good job, but it's not necessary. Work experience and significant projects in EE are also helpful.
pete5383
Hey everyone. I've been wondering something lately...I am an Electrical Engineering student, and a lot of people have told me that getting my masters in EE is extremely helpful. I am currently attending the U of Minnesota (yay!) and they offer a 5 year program to get my BS and my MS. I love my college, but I'd also been thinking, another option would be to get my BS in EE (and possibly double major in Physics) from the U of M and then go to a different grad school, specifically Stanford or MIT (I'm shooting high! I think I have good grades...). The Stanford or MIT program would take 2 years (I think...as far as I know. haha) bringing my total school years up to 6.

So I guess my question is this: how much better would it be to get my masters from a top notch grad school such as Stanford in six years, or get my masters from the University of Minnesota (a good school, but by no means elite) in five years? Is the extra year worth a better school?

Also, while I'm asking questions, would double majoring in EE and Physics help in my grad school/career hunt? And what kind of grades/experience would I need to get into a Standford/Mit/Caltech type school?

Thank you all! And hopefully my post wasn't complete nonsense, I'm getting a little sleepy...

Physics news on Phys.org
This is a related question:

Does it look bad to have your Master's degree from the same school as your Bachelors? Does it dpend on the major?

Ah, I've never even thought of that. Anyone know what employers think of it?