1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Good physics B textbooks?

1. Jan 5, 2012 #1
    Since I'm a freshman, and my high school doesn't allow freshman to take any physics class, I was wondering if anyone knew of a good Physics B book? I have self studied using online materials up till this point, but now I need a good guideline to progress further.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 5, 2012 #2
    Giancoli 5th ed. is pretty good, we used it in my physics b class... Not too expensive either and the explanations are probably the best for any highschool book I've used, easy and concise.

4. Jan 5, 2012 #3
    Agreed, my class used it as well.

5. Jan 5, 2012 #4

bcrowell

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Giancoli is a typical commercial physics textbook. "Typical" means that it's fine if you just want to learn how to plug numbers into formulas without understanding anything.

If you want something that will actually allow you to get any deeper understanding, it's going to depend on your math background. Hewitt's Conceptual Physics is quite good, IMO; virtually no mathematical content, but it's actually quite a good book intellectually. You can easily find inexpensive used copies or check it out from the public library. Even if you intend to learn the subject at a more mathematical level, reading Hewitt first could give you a good base to start from. At the high school algebra/trig level, PSSC Physics is about the only decent option I know of, but it's overpriced. (Touger is a college book at a similar level to Giancoli and much better than Giancoli, IMO -- but that ain't saying much, and the price is really exploitative.) If you've had calculus and want a really rigorous, kick-*** intro, then Kleppner and Kolenknow is the classic to start with.