1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

GPA: Can you be too perfect?

1. Jun 16, 2011 #1

Math Is Hard

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

If you were in charge of admissions, wouldn't it be a little freaky to see transcripts with all "A"s and "A+"s for a student? I would wonder if that person had a "life" and if they might implode at the next level of coursework if things went less than perfectly.

I was a pretty uptight undergrad student, nothing but A+, A, or A-. I actually liked it when I got an A- in a course because I thought, "well, they will see I am not a robot", when my transcripts are reviewed.

I have no idea how admissions committees look at these things, but if I were on one, I might be slightly biased against students with flawless grades, worrying how they might fare at the next level. I guess that's what the essays sort out.

This is not a personal question, BTW. I've already been admitted to my program. Just general curiosity.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 16, 2011 #2
    I think that the committees think a lot less than you give them credit for. There is not much to tell about someones personality based on their grades except that grades probably correlates with responsibility and personal drive.

4. Jun 16, 2011 #3
    Isn't that the point of letters of rec?

5. Jun 16, 2011 #4
    Agreed, you can't just make arbitrary and unsupported assumptions about people. Well, you can, but I guess anything goes then.

Last edited: Jun 16, 2011
  6. Jun 16, 2011 #5
    Meh, seems unlikely adcoms would even think that hard about grades. Also research is more important than having a "life", right? :P

7. Jun 16, 2011 #6
    Or it could be that you went to a school with massive grade inflation like Harvard.

8. Jun 16, 2011 #7