1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Gr 11 Roller Coaster Contest

1. Dec 29, 2004 #1
    I'm a gr 11 physics student at Ashbury College (Ottawa, Canada) and our class (in multiple teams) has been entered in a roller coaster contest, held by Wonderland. (A theme park in Ontario, Canada).

My friends and I are determined to win this contest, and I am sure that the ideas of those in this forum will assist us greatly.

As the contest rules are on a webpage, I am not going to type them all out, rather I will provide the link: :tongue2:

http://www.canadas-wonderland.com/rules2004.htm

As we can only participate in one area of the contest, and neither my friends or I are art students, we decided to compete in the technical merit field.

We are hoping we can obtain a score of over 60 Million points. :bugeye:

Any ideas welcome, when I find a scanner I'll post our initial design, as well as the point calculation we did for it.

Thanks in advance,
    -Jonathan

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 29, 2004
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 29, 2004 #2
    Just thought I'd add a couple questions to start us off...

1. Obviously, because points are awarded for loops, the greater the velocity throughout the course the better. Say I had 2 marble's, 1.3 cm and 2.5cm. Which would be better to use? Why?

2. I was thinking of reducing friction on the course, perhaps by using ball bearing grease to lubricate the track...is this a good idea?

3. What material should we use for the track?

4. The contest guidelines state that we must have 2 horizontal 360 degree turns, where is the best spot to put these? They would be very shallow so as to not take up a great deal of space and thus maximize the gravitational potential energy of the marble.

-Jonathan

4. Dec 29, 2004 #3

NateTG