1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

GR research paper topic

1. Mar 25, 2013 #1
    Hi people , i am an engineering sophomore. but after my undergrad i want to move into physics lane especially theoretical physics. for which i am doing ground works and building my profile ( as a non physics student , to get into good physics grad school i would need a good profile ofcourse !) ....

My level of physics now is that i have completed Special and general relativity courses onilne and kinda of got a good idea on these two (both mathematical and conceptual). i am a person who does physics through rigorous math. i am now in the level of understanding the mathamtics behind swarchild metric derivation.

Every one around me says it is good to start publishing papers. well my idea about publishing papers is that people "invent" or "discover" something and then they formally present it in a paper calling it so. but now at this stage i guess that is way of my league. but since i do need to build my profile i came up with these two topics. i just wanted to know would this be an acceptable area to write paper on
    1) Complete review about how the solution of EFE turns out for a point mass in vacuum like the derivation , meaning of it and the method used
    2) (this one is my own idea) - finding the condition for communication to occur between 2 points inside the photon sphere and outside the event horizon ( to begin with lets say for a swarchild black hole)

but i kinda think i need to learn a bit more math to do the second one. but i guess that would be interesting. and will 1st one get the status of writing a paper ?

Thanks for your replies

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 25, 2013 #2

Nabeshin

Science Advisor

Unfortunately, none of this is paper-worthy.