Grad school Applications help.

In summary: I don't know. I just really enjoy math. I don't really know why I switched to it, it just kind of happened. I do think I would enjoy Applied Math, but I'm more interested in the theoretical side of things. I don't really know why I switched to it, it just kind of happened. I do think I would enjoy Applied Math, but I'm more interested in the theoretical side of things.
caffeinemachine
Gold Member
MHB
Hello MHB,

I'll soon be applying for Masters and PhD programmes in mathematics to universities in the US. I need help with my statement of purpose. I am not sure what I should put in it since I am largely self taught (in math) and have little formal research experience. (Formal research experience means projects undertaken and internships). Please give your suggestions based on the following.

1. I am an undergraduate majoring in mechanical engineering. I'll graduate in 2014 with a master's degree in mechanical engineering.

2. My B. Tech and M. Tech thesis both are on mech. engg. topics.

3. I have done exactly one internship under a professor in mathematics. My guide for this internship has a PhD from UChicago and he has agreed to give me a strong letter of recommendation.

4. I have done Abstract Algebra, Computational Number Theory, Graph Theory and Linear Algebra courses at my institute. I have self studied a lot of undergraduate mathematics and I think my knowledge and skills (as an undergraduate) are decent.

5. I have not published anything in mathematics or in any other discipline.

6. My area of interest broadly is Graph Theory, Combinatorics and Algebra. I don't have any particular problem in mind right now on which I'd like to work during my PhD.

Any other advice regarding applications are welcome.

Physics news on Phys.org