1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Grad school questions

1. Jul 25, 2006 #1
    I'm sure some of this has already been answered, but I'm going to go ahead and ask. I'm a physics undergrad but I might want to go into engineering for my masters. My math teacher kind of talked me into double majoring, because math comes so easy to me, but I'm still not sure, because it'd mean another semester and I've switched majors so much that I have a lot of extra hours already and I'll be charged out of state tuition if I'm not careful. I was wondering how much better double majoring would look compared to just having a lot of math, if I choose to go into engineering.
    Secondly, I'm kind of confused about engineering. The thing that interested me is a show I saw where grad students were in a competition designing/building houses that run completely off of solar energy. I thought this was neat, because though exploring astronomy is fun, I'm very much a "make stuff" and design kind of person ( I was an art major before I switched to physics). From the research I've done, solar energy is generally under the mechanical engineering department, but this isn't entirely consistent. I'm from Texas but I'm hoping to go to Univ. of Alberta, so I've been e-mailing them, but I thought I'd ask here too.

So anyways, my physics profs try to encourage physics, and my math profs encourage math. I thought an outside view would be helpful.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 31, 2006 #2