1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Grad School vs. Experiences

1. Dec 22, 2013 #1
    Hi all,

I am a newbie in this website. I have found this website a great source of help for me in every possible ways. Currently I am at a crossroad in my career path where I need to make a sound decision in order to move forward.

I am a civil engineer in training (EIT) with more than 2 years of experience in the trasportation engineering field specilizing mainly in roadway/highway design. In my team, there are three other more senior level engineers who have masters and at least 6 years of experience. Working with them, sometime I feel I am so far behind them in terms of knowledge and software skills no matter how hard I try. I have never been shy away from asking questions and learning things on my own to improve my knowledge. However I still feel like they are still too far ahead for me to catch up. Plus, I always get assigned to do same tasks over and over again. So far I have not got many chances to do the designs under their supervision. Every time there is a design project coming in regardless of its complexity, they would do it and assign me small tasks in the design instead of letting me try to do the design myself under their supervision. I am just worried that if this keeps going on, then I will not be able to move forward in my career path. Is this normal for you guys when you first started working in the engineering field? I am considering of quitting my job and going back to school to get a master degree in transportation engineering. Would the master degree help me? Would experience weight more than a master? Please advice. Thank you very much for your help.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 22, 2013 #2