Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Grad School

1. May 5, 2010 #1
    Lets say that I'm the VP of the Physics club of my school, I have 2 years of research experience and a semester working at the National Terawatt Facility. I took 4 or so graduate classes which I get B's in, I get 90%> on the gre physics, but my GPA is like a 3.3. What schools am I looking at?

The GPA is low because I got C's in biology and chemistry, but the lowest I ever got in any other subject including physics and math is a B. My upperdivision physics and Math classes are all A's and B's.

What sort of Grad schools am I looking at, if any at all?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 7, 2010 #2
    How should I fare?

The question is ... can I get into an above average grad school for physics? So what are my credentials? I won't bore you with the details, but here it is...

For the first two years of my academic life I've gotten C's for two years of chemistry and one year of Biology. However I have gotten B's in all my math and Physics classes.

I am a year ahead of my class so I take classes like PDE's for the 2nd semester and all the upperdivision courses for physics my 2nd year. My GPA at this point is crap and around a 2.98.

However I have one redeeming thing going for me and that is I worked as a Diagnostics Technician for the Electrical Engineering team working on a 2 Terewatt Z-Pinch and Laser. I do this for one semester.

My Third year, however is great because I take 2nd year Grad Classes and 10 other Senior Physics and Math courses, getting A's in all my subjects. I am also voted in as Physics Club VP where I coordinated the construction of a Cyclotron and Farnsworth Fusor group project.

I also Conducted research for a biophysicist for that year and get published. Lastly I scored 90%> for the GRE Physics and General test.