Graduate school in Japan?

In summary, Josh is an American student majoring in Computer Engineering who is just finishing up his first year and plans on having a 3.25 GPA by the time he graduates. He does not know Japanese, but could learn it in the next three years. He wants to go into the field of integrated circuit design and thinks it would be hard to get accepted into a Japanese University. He thinks that Japanese Universities look for international students who are strong in their home country's academic system and have good grades. He does not think it is realistic to do a full masters degree in a foreign country, but he would likely get a better education in a Japanese University for Electrical/Computer Engineering since they are such a technologically advanced country.
JoshHolloway
I am an American student majoring in Computer Engineering. How hard do you guys think it would be to go to graduate school in Japan to earn my masters?

Physics news on Phys.org
Here is a little information about myself:I am just finishing up my first year.

I do not know japanese, but I could learn it in the next three years.

I would like to go into the field of integrated circuit design.

Last edited:
I guess these are some specific quesions I had:How hard is it to get accepted into a good (I don't mean the best school, I just mean an average one) Japanese University? Is it as hard to be accepted into a Japenese school as it is to get into schools such as MIT?

What do you think that Japanese Universties look for when choosing international students to accept?

What should I be doing to increase my chances to get accepted into a Japanese University?

Is it even realistic to do a full masters degree in a foriegn country?

Would I likely get a better education in a Japanese University for Electrical/Computer Engineering since they are such a technologically advanced country?

Last edited:
Hi Josh,