1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Graduate School Woes

1. Apr 22, 2008 #1
    I am currently a senior undergraduate student majoring in Computer Engineering. I initially chose this major to get a grasp on both "software" and "hardware" side of engineering namely, in "Computer Science" and "Electrical Engineering" aspect, which I believed might be handy once I start researching in Robotics extensively.

I'm not sure if it was the ideal choice I made back then, as I think of it now. Our Computer Engineering program has a curriculum that is more closer to Electrical Engineering side (About 65% EE, 35% COSC) hence, I missed out a lot of core computer science courses which is associated with Artificial Intelligence.
    (Curriculum : http://wwweng.uwyo.edu/electrical/undergrad/computer.html)

Here is my question. I want to apply to Texas A&M for graduate school, but I don't exactly know what I should do. I mean, I took autocontrol system class to get a grasp on the control system aspect of Robotics, but never in Artificial Intelligence due to my lacking prerequisite. I didn't "really" enjoy the control aspect. I hated doing locus plots, analyzing nyquist plots, those sort of stuff.

I believe that I enjoy more of computer science aspect of my major as of now than the electrical engineering side. Does this mean I should go with a Master degree in Computer Science (Or computer engineering - computer science track)? I'm just afraid that I might not have the corresponding courses I need to take for this.

I'm really confused about my major and all. I'd appriciate it if anyone could provide me some advices.
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 23, 2008 #2