1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Graduate student frustrated

1. Jan 17, 2009 #1
    Hi all..
    I am now a first-year graduate student in engineering.
    I have been working on a research problem for 3 months.
    I thought that I have solved the problem recently and wrote up a manuscript and was ready to submit that.
    However, suddenly, I found an error with my work and it cannot be fixed. A stupid error I made in the very beginning of the research...
    I feel so frustrated and shameful and start to doubt whether i should continue graduate school....

Anyone has similar experience to share..?
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 17, 2009 #2

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to the club.

Move on, there is nothing to see.
  4. Jan 17, 2009 #3

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

I agree, this isn't all that uncommon.

You can't expect all research to go perfectly - especially when you're still a student. Also, the error could not have been that stupid, otherwise your supervisor should have picked up on it as soon as he/she saw it. Be glad that you found the error now and not, say, on the night before your defence.
  5. Jan 17, 2009 #4

I feel like I am so stupid...

The mistake is really stupid...i can gaurantee...
    My advisor did not notice this probably because he trust me and he didn't read every step...so...

6. Jan 17, 2009 #5

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

What, 2+ 2 isn't equal to 5?
  7. Jan 17, 2009 #6
    I had the same experience doing an undergraduate research project, where a too-good-to-be-true result turned out, as I was starting to finish everything up, to be untrue. C'est la vie.

Did you learn something from the experience?
  8. Jan 17, 2009 #7
    It's all part of the learning process.
  9. Jan 18, 2009 #8