What Happens to Gravitational Force at the Center of the Earth?

In summary: So when you go to the center of the Earth there is less mass inside the Gaussian surface and the magnitude of the gravitational field is smaller.
uranium_235
I am sure most here are familiar with it
Fg = G*m1*m2/d^2
With this formula, if one were to venture to the centre of the earth, the distance between he and the centre of the Earth == 0.
Therefore we get the bottom equal to 0^2 or 0. If we then continue we get an undefined answer. Certainly the gravitational force between the Earth and a body and the centre of the Earth is not infinite or else everything would collapse inwards towards the centre. So does this mean the gravitational force between the Earth and a body at its centre is Null and void, or in other words equal to 0?

Please excuse my ignorance; I am very new to this.

Physics news on Phys.org
When you're at the center of the earth, gravity is balanced in every direction, so there is zero field there. In other words, the same amount of matter is above your head as below your feet, so their attractions cancel.

On your way down to the center, you should note that only the mass interior to you matters. In other words, if you're 1 km from the center, only the mass within a 1 km radius of the center has any effect on you. The exterior mass all cancels out. When you get to the center, there is no longer any mass interior to you, and thus no force.

- Warren

My question is not so much concerning the centre of the earth, but rather when d=0.