Gravitational Lensing: Solving Equation 2.1

In summary, it is important for scientists to thoroughly research and understand the equations and concepts they are working with. In this case, further investigation and consulting other sources will help to gain a deeper understanding of the complex sum in equation 2.1 and its relationship to gravitational potential in the context of gravitational lensing.
Elekko

Homework Statement

I'm studying about gravitational lensing and got stuck on an article:

http://arxiv.org/pdf/0708.2684v1.pdf

where the equation 2.1 is abit strange to me. The authour uses the reference

http://arxiv.org/pdf/astro-ph/9703103v1.pdf

for deriving the equation.

According to me, the sum on equation is extremely similar to Gravitational Potential.

Homework Equations

Equation 1 has the form w = z - Ʃsigma/(bar(z)-bar(zj)) and the gravitational potential is given in http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gravitational_potential as Ʃ-Gmi/(x-xi)

The Attempt at a Solution

I think that the complex sum in 2.1 is the same as gravitational potential.

My question is if this is true? Or do I need to do some more research about the derivation?

Physics news on Phys.org

it is always important to thoroughly research and understand the equations and concepts that you are working with. In this case, it would be beneficial for you to further investigate the derivation of equation 2.1 in the article you are studying. This will help you to better understand the similarities and differences between the complex sum in 2.1 and the gravitational potential.

Additionally, it would be helpful to consult other sources and references to gain a deeper understanding of the complex sum and its relationship to gravitational potential. This will also help you to verify the accuracy of the equation and its use in the context of gravitational lensing.