Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Gravity class is amazing

1. Sep 22, 2005 #1
    Hey how are ya? I'm new to physics and all that I took a class in school and it blew me away! A lot of questions are popping up that my teacher can't answer. My first one is,according to him, pretty deep. Here it is; what is gravity? I mean what is it ? How does it work. I understand that it is all around us, and all the basics but this one is bugging me. Any answeres out there?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 22, 2005 #2

Doc Al

Staff: Mentor

The first step is to learn how gravity is described. Have you studied Newton's law of universal gravity? I'd start there. (When you've mastered that, then you can look into how General Relativity describes gravity.)

4. Sep 22, 2005 #3
    yet another qravity question. Isn't it true that gravity is faster than light? If it is then wouldn't all fields be faster than waves considering light is a wave.

5. Sep 22, 2005 #4
    I don't think gravity is faster than light, gravity doesn't travel, it causes objects to travel.

6. Sep 22, 2005 #5

Doc Al

No. According to General Relativity, gravity propagates at the speed of light.

7. Sep 22, 2005 #6
    Well think about this scenario. What if you are out on a nice lake in the middle of the night with a nice full moon lighting up the night. Then out of nowhere an alian ship decides to play a prank and zap the moon from the sky. Wouldn't the water recede from it's tide about 2 3/4 seconds before you see the moon dissapear?

8. Sep 22, 2005 #7

Doc Al

What makes you say that?

9. Sep 22, 2005 #8