Gravity - Einstein vs Newton

1. Hi my background is in mechanical engineering. I use a little bit of motion physics but not often.
    Pls excuse any errors or wrong terminology I may use.

Einstein's theory of relativity addresses the force of gravity in space time but does it address or apply to gravity on Earth? What creates or causes the gravity on earth? Gravity which is responsible for holding everything to the surface of the earth. From objects at rest or in motion to liquids and solids.

I believe Newton states that mass creates gravity. The greater the mass the greater the gravity. Isaacs equations are still widely used today in engineering. I have often referred to them myself.

So if I put a bowling ball in a vacuum of space will a small ball bearing be drawn to it due to a gravitational force?

Last edited: Apr 18, 2014
  2. jcsd
  3. Meir Achuz

Meir Achuz 2,061
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Yes.............

4. What a genius Isaac Newton really was. He blows my mind

So has this practical example been performed and confirmed?

5. Look up the cavendish experiment, that may be interesting to you.

6. Excellent. I believe the experiment was done under earths gravity.
    Have other experiments been performed in vacuum enclosure?
    I would like to see a huge suspended mass with a tiny object pinned to the bottom by gravity. To simulate myself standing upside down in Australia

Last edited: Apr 18, 2014
  7. phinds

phinds 9,369
    Gold Member

Newton's equations are what fall out of GR in a limiting case, so there is no difference between the two, really. Anything that Newton's Law of Gravity predicts is also predicted by GR, just more correctly and also in a way that works for the more general case. But it IS way easier to use Newton, so folks who build bridges and such don't use GR because they don't have to (they are working inside the limited case).