Green Functions: A physicist's Intro to Math Methods

In summary, the individual is a physics student looking for resources on Green functions at a level that does not require a significant knowledge of integral equations and functional analysis. Suggestions were given for a website and a book to check out, as well as a recommendation to visit a library. The Roach and Habermans' books were also mentioned.
will.c
Not sure if this is the best place, but it's also my first post, so meta-answers about where I'm supposed to put this business are welcome too.

I'm a physics student, and I'm interested in learning about Green functions, but I sold back the Boas book that I used for my math methods class (we didn't cover the topic), and that's about the level that I'm looking for; is there a free resource that explains the method in a way that I don't need a huge knowledge of integral equations and functional analysis to comprehend, or at the other end, a book that brings all those topics together so that a physicist can understand it?

Thanks,
Will

Physics news on Phys.org
No help?

You could try [/URL] to begin with, including the external links and book references at the bottom.

Furthermore, a search on Google returns http://books.google.nl/books?id=edTngEuzXaoC&dq=greens+functions&pg=PP1&ots=bYdfU5doDf&sig=v_tyaPwJ-VArMLGE8mB8CwCnvyI&hl=nl&prev=http://www.google.nl/search?q=greens+functions&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&sa=X&oi=print&ct=title&cad=one-book-with-thumbnail#PPA2,M1 which looks promising to me, but I don't know if it is what you want.

You could also go to your library and see what they have on the subject, then you can hold the book and look inside it.

Last edited by a moderator:
Well, I've done all that, but everything I've come to is either at a graduate level, or advanced undergrad, but for math majors. The Roach book is probably the best on the subject for undergrads, from what I've seen, but it put me to sleep. =(