AP Physics & Greenhouse: Electrical & Thermodynamics Solutions

In summary, the conversation is about a high school physics teacher looking for ways to involve AP level physics students in a greenhouse project and seeking advice on potential projects and setting up the electrical grid for the greenhouse. Suggestions include designing a solar-powered irrigation system and considering both voltage and current in the electrical setup.
jmgood
Hi there,

I'm a high school physics teacher and my school has recently built a greenhouse! I am trying to find ways that I can have my AP level physics students participate in the greenhouse project, but I'm finding that anything I can think of seems to be well beyond the scope of the course (and we have limited time as it is). Is there anything electrical or thermodynamics related, perhaps, that isn't insanely uncontrolled? Does anyone have any suggestions?

Also, I've been tasked with setting up the electrical grid for the fans and solar panels that we'll be using to regulate temperatures, and I'm afraid I don't have the first idea of how to treat anything beyond a simple circuit. What's more important, the voltage supplied across an appliance, or the current? Or is it both? If my power sources are all rated in terms of power, not voltage or amperage, how can I relate that to the devices in my circuit?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Likes Greg Bernhardt
Science news on Phys.org

Hi there,

I think it's great that your school has built a greenhouse and that you're trying to involve your AP physics students in the project. It's always exciting to bring real-life applications into the classroom.