Understanding Group Orbits: A Wolfram Mathworld Example

In summary: Likewise, for a group, we would refer to the orbit of f as its image under the group action.In summary, the Wolfram's Mathworld example has 1 and 2 in the same orbit because they are the same permutation. 1 can get sent to either 2, 3 or 4, but 2 cannot get sent to 1.
Ryker
I just started learning about group orbits, and wanted to look it up online, because I needed some more clarification. However, stumbling upon this Wolfram's Mathworld entry, I ended up even more confused, especially after reading that example for the permutation group G1. Could someone perhaps explain to me how exactly it is that if [itex]G_{1} = \{(1234), (2134), (1243), (2143)\}[/itex], the orbits of 1 and 2 are {1, 2}? To me it seems that 1 can get sent to either 2, 3 or 4, but not to itself, and 2 to 1, 3 and 4, but I also know that orbits are either disjoint or equal, so I must not be getting something.

Physics news on Phys.org
Each of those four elements of the group is a permutation. 1 and 2 have the same orbit (1,2) because those permutations only map them only each other.

An orbit is an equivalence class (have you learned about equivalence relations or partitions?) Two objects are in the same orbit if the group can be used to turn one into another.

An example that shows up in combinatorics is the following:

Suppose you have a square and beads of three colors. How many distinguishable ways can you place the colored beads on the corners of the square? Two ways are indistinguishable if they are the same up to a rotation.

Our group is the rotation group, and our set is all the different combinations of colors. Two combinations are in the same orbit if we can use the rotation group to turn one into another. That is, they are the same if they are indistinguishable, which is exactly why orbits are useful for combinatorics.

alexfloo said: