Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Grtensor and maple 11

1. Feb 12, 2008 #1
    Hello everyone;
    This is my first time in the physics forums, or any forum for that matter, so please accept my apologies if I am posting this in the wrong place.

I have just installed grtensorII into Maple 11. I am running it on Fedora 7. The install seems to have worked, although I did have to tweak some of the commands (compared to those in the install guide, which I guess was written for windows users) in order to get it to work. I can load the libraries, and I can load most of the pre-defined objects (e.g. Schwarzchild geometry, Ricci tensor, Christoffel, etc). My problem arises when I try to define new tensors. Even if I enter examples straight from the manual exactly as they are written, it spits out errors at me. Here's an example:
    grdef ( 'u{a} := [0,f(r),0,g(r)]' ):
    Here I am just trying to define a covariant vector, where the functions f(r) and g(r) are specified, but this just doesn't work. I am getting the syntax from Document D: Defining new Tensors, Section 5, Number 9, from the documentation that comes with GRtensor II.
    There also seems to be a problem when I try to define a tensor with contravariant indices because the 'carat' character causes maple to think that I want to enter an exponent. If I override this with \^, it gives me an "invalid power" error.

Any help?
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 13, 2008 #2
    after hours of banging my head, I got it working. I was using forward quotes instead of back quotes around the assignment statement. Silly.

4. Nov 27, 2010 #3
    May I ask how did you teach Maple loading your metrics? I had a hard time to do that in OS X and still can't get any output from qload(mink) for instance.
  5. Dec 4, 2010 #4