1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

GS of Differential Equation

1. May 1, 2006 #1
    [tex] \ddot{x} + 10\dot{x} + 34x = 50e^{-t} [/tex]

Im stuck on getting the homogeneous equation. Im used to equations with just first derivatives, not second derivatives as well. Usually, i'd set the left hand side equal to zero and say:

[tex] set \left x = Ae^{\lambda{t}} \left and \left so \left \dot{x} = A \lambda e ^{\lambda{t}} [/tex]

id then put in the coefficients and get something like LAMBDA = -2.

But when theres a second derivative i have an extra lamba squared expression and therefore a polynomial that is equal to zero. This results in 2 solutions - is that okay for the homogeneous equation? Il work thru this question as i would:

[tex] \ddot{x} + 10\dot{x} + 34x = 50e^{-t} [/tex]

[tex] Homogeneous: \ddot{x} + 10\dot{x} + 34x = 0 [/tex]

[tex] set: \left x = Ae^{\lambda{t}} \left and \left \dot{x} = A \lambda e^{\lambda{t}} \left and \left \ddot{x} = A \lambda^2 e^{\lambda{t}} [/tex]

putting in the coef's we have:

[tex] A \lambda^2 e^{\lambda{t}} + 10A \lambda e^{\lambda{t}} + 34Ae^{\lambda{t}} = 0 [/tex]

this simplifies to:

[tex] \lambda^2 + 10\lambda + 34 = 0 [/tex]

Do i now perform the quadratic formula to get 2 results for LAMBDA thus giving me something along the lines of

[tex] Homogeneous eq = Ae^{xt} + Ae^{yt} [/tex] ???
    Last edited: May 1, 2006
  2. jcsd
  3. May 1, 2006 #2

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor