Hamiltonian Help: Learn Physics from Basics

• Thread starter bearhug8703
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Hamiltonian
In summary, the person is asking for book recommendations to learn about Hamiltonians and their eigenvalues. They are specifically interested in a book that covers the basics of these topics, as they have no prior knowledge. The conversation also mentions using Thornton and Marion for classical mechanics, and suggests looking into beginner-level textbooks for quantum mechanics and linear algebra for understanding the diagonalization process.
bearhug8703
hey I am i have just finished my final yr from Bangalore.. did phy n maths..interested in pursuing physics in the future.Cld i get some help regarding which books cld b followed if i want to learn Hamiltonian n findin its eigen values. If u cld suggest a book which deals from the basics of the above said ,since i have no knowledge abt the same.

Physics news on Phys.org
bearhug8703 said:
hey I am i have just finished my final yr from Bangalore.. did phy n maths..interested in pursuing physics in the future.Cld i get some help regarding which books cld b followed if i want to learn Hamiltonian n findin its eigen values. If u cld suggest a book which deals from the basics of the above said ,since i have no knowledge abt the same.

in what context?

if it's hamiltonians classical mechanics, i am unaware of a textbook that discusses eigenvalues of hamiltonians. (i personally used thornton and marion, so the treatment of hamiltonians was basic and minimal.)

if it's quantum mechanics, i am sure that any beginning-level quantum mechanics textbook (griffiths?) discusses this.

as far as the actual process of diagonalization of matrices (ie, finding eigenvalues and eigenvectors), any beginning textbook in linear algebra ought to be sufficient.